Elected Officials to Protect New York​

Elected Officials to Protect New York is a statewide, non-partisan network of current and former New York State elected officials committed to protecting a healthy and prosperous environment for our communities.


Elected officials across New York State are calling on Gov Cuomo to significantly increase state funding, support, procurement, and permitting to deploy large-scale renewable energy, reject permits for all new fossil fuel infrastructure, and work with utility providers to create a more resilient 21st-century electricity grid.

New York must galvanize its post-pandemic economic recovery by leading in green job creation and by funding much-needed green infrastructure, supporting local communities in transitioning from fossil fuels and preparing them for further climate change.

365 Signatories in 40 Counties


In December 2020, we celebrated a victory in New York with the Comptroller divesting the state’s pension fund from fossil fuels. Many groups came together, including EOPA, to make it happen. Our National Leadership Council Co-Chair, Former Assemblyman Felix Ortiz, authored the Divestment bill in the legislature, which was key to our success.

“New York State’s pension fund, one of the world’s largest and most influential investors, will drop many of its fossil fuel stocks in the next five years and sell its shares in other companies that contribute to global warming by 2040, the state comptroller said on Wednesday.”

“With $226 billion in assets, New York’s fund wields clout with other retirement funds and its decision to divest from fossil fuels could accelerate a broader shift in global markets away from oil and gas companies, energy experts and climate activists said.” [Full New York Times story.]

New York’s $226 Billion Pension Fund Is Dropping Fossil Fuel Stocks

Story By Anne Barnard  Dec. 9, 2020. Photo used for story by the New York Times.

See more coverage of our work.

NY: Join TCI, The Transportation and Climate Initiative

During the pandemic, economic recession, and climate crisis elected officials from across New York State and New Jersey are insisting on regional climate action to help the health and economic well-being of the millions of souls they represent.

Specifically, these elected officials are urging Governor Andrew Cuomo and Governor Phil Murphy, respectively, to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that will commit New York and New Jersey to the Transportation and Climate Initiative (TCI), by the end of the year. TCI’s main tenant is to curb pollution from cars and trucks, the greatest source of human-made greenhouse gasses.

Previous Effort: Stopping The NYS Nuclear Power Bailout

Nuclear Bailout Snapshop Text:  Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo

To learn more about our ongoing and past work, visit our Campaigns page.

Join Us

As a statewide network of elected officials, from town councilors to state senators…


Elected Officals Inquieries:


Or contact us through this form link.

Donate to our efforts!

As a statewide network of elected officials, from town councilors to state senators,

As a statewide network of elected officials, from town councilors to state senators,

About Elected Officials to Protect New York

EOPNY was founded in 2012 due to the growing concerns over fracking on public health, the environment, and our local economies. Our foundational letter, upon which our core membership was formed. Since then, we have worked tirelessly to protect the health, environment, and socioeconomic wellbeing of all the communities we serve.

EOPNY Leadership Council

Anthony Grice

Manna Jo Greene

Deborah Dawson

Katelyn Krisel

Bill Reinhardt

Jen Metzger

Mary Lupien

Irene Weiser


Martha Robertson

Anne Koreman